Blog Latest Posts

Blog Download the 14 Volume Set “A Study in Luke”

Download the 14 Volume Set “A Study in Luke”

As the Gospel of Luke begins, its author declares his intent to compile “an orderly account” of Jesus’ life and ministry so that anyone who reads it “may have certainty concerning the things you have been taught.” When we open its pages, this is exactly what we find. Tracing Jesus’ life from His nativity and ministry to His death, resurrection, and ascension, Luke presents us with a portrait of a perfect, divine Savior in whom we can believe fully and securely.

Volume 1: Listen | Download Zip

As a well-traveled doctor and the only gentile writer in the New Testament, Luke set the story of Jesus’ birth in the context of the Roman Empire and the secular world of its day. Walking us through these opening chapters, Alistair Begg shows us the necessity of the incarnation: that Jesus had to be fully human and fully God to be able to fulfill the plan for our salvation.

Volume 2: Listen | Download Zip

In volume two of this series, Alistair Begg directs our attention to the message of John the Baptist as well as the baptism and wilderness temptation of Jesus, which paved the way for the imminent commencement of His public ministry. When John first came on the scene, many thought he was the long-awaited Messiah. Though they regretted to learn that he wasn’t, their disappointment was short-lived: even as John spoke, Christ was making His way into their region.

Volume 3: Listen | Download Zip

In volume three of this series, Alistair Begg walks us through the opening days of Christ’s ministry, noting the explicit responses He provoked from people who either believed Him fully or rejected Him completely. Jesus’ early teachings and public acts focused on a wide range of themes—yet through it all, we catch glimpses of the Son of Man as He continued the journey that would lead Him to Calvary.

Volume 4: Listen | Download Zip

In volume four of this series, Alistair Begg invites us to revisit one of Jesus’ best-known sermons and see it as a “manifesto” for Christian living that points to our need for a Savior. Understood rightly, Jesus’ teaching would make even the best of us despair of our ability to fulfill God’s commands. Before we can embrace the radical lifestyle that Jesus preached, we must be reborn from the inside out—a change that can only be accomplished in us by Christ.

Volume 5: Listen | Download Zip

In volume five of this series, Alistair Begg leads us through Jesus’ interactions with a series of individuals, including two sorrowful households, John the Baptist, His own disciples, a sinful woman, a demon-possessed man, and the significant religious and political figures of His day. Confronted with the power of Christ, each had to come to a conclusion about who Jesus was—a decision that promised to change their lives forever.

Volume 6: Listen | Download Zip

In volume six of this series, Alistair Begg examines Jesus’ teachings before and after He sent out a group of seventy-two disciples on their first mission to proclaim the good news. As they prepared for departure, Jesus instructed His followers in the methods they were to use to spread their important message. When they returned, He then rejoiced in the Spirit and taught important lessons on loving one’s neighbor and the heart of true Christian service.

Volume 7: Listen | Download Zip

In volume seven of this series, Alistair Begg zooms in on the pattern for prayer provided in Luke 11. Martin Luther referred to this prayer as “the greatest martyr on earth” because it is so often used without thought, feeling, reverence, or faith. When we study its words, though, we realize that it models profound principles for what, how, and why to pray and that prayer shouldn’t be supplemental; it should be fundamental.

Volume 8: Listen | Download Zip

In volume eight of this series, Alistair Begg follows Luke’s account of Christ’s continuing ministry in Galilee. Jesus performed miracles, instructed the crowds in sermons and parables, and defended the truth against the Pharisees and teachers of the law. His lessons remind us that though God owes us nothing, His invitation for salvation is open to all who are willing to forsake their pride and humbly trust and obey Him.

Volume 9: Listen | Download Zip

In volume nine of this series, Alistair Begg unpacks Jesus’ well-known parable of the prodigal son. Featuring a cast of characters with whom the strictly religious and brazenly sinful alike can relate, this story movingly depicts how God the Father seeks reconciliation with both. As we consider the broken bonds between the parable’s father and his two sons, we learn that God desires restored relationship with all on the basis of His great kindness in Christ.

Volume 10: Listen | Download Zip

In volume ten of this series, Alistair Begg follows Jesus as He interacts with the Pharisees, heals the afflicted, and tells parables on His journey toward Jerusalem. Along the way, Jesus reveals the topsy-turvy nature of God’s kingdom—the last made first, the lost being found, outsiders being brought in, and sinners being made righteous. As He approaches the cross, His words rebuke the prideful but promise hope to those who lean on His perfection.

Volume 11: Listen | Download Zip

In volume eleven of this series, Alistair Begg leads us through Luke’s account of Christ’s time in Jerusalem as His ministry and mission neared its culmination at Calvary. Preparing both His followers and enemies for His death and resurrection, Jesus answered questions about His authority and identity, warned unbelievers of the judgment to come, and comforted the faithful with the promise of eternal life and fellowship with God—the same which He offers us today.

Volume 12: Listen | Download Zip

In volume twelve of this series, Alistair Begg focuses on Luke’s description of Jesus’ final meal with His disciples, against the backdrop of His follower Judas’s fateful decision to betray Him. Christ’s compassion and love for His friends and enemies alike was clear in His words and actions. As His followers, He reminds us that we, too, will have trouble in the world—but we can trust that Jesus reigns and that God is working everything for our good and His glory.

Volume 13: Listen | Download Zip

In volume thirteen of this series, Alistair Begg brings us face-to-face with Luke’s account of Jesus’ agony in Gethsemane, arrest, trial, crucifixion, and death. Along the way, we see figures like Herod, the Roman centurion, and Joseph of Arimathea confront an important decision: Will they go on as they always have, or will they be changed by the redemptive work—and promised, triumphant resurrection—of Christ?.

Volume 14: Listen | Download Zip

In volume fourteen of this series, Alistair Begg walks us through the dismal days following Jesus’ death, the disciples’ shocking discovery that He was alive again, and His final, extraordinary departure from the earth. We will learn why we can trust the Bible’s account of these events, why salvation hinges upon Christ’s resurrection, and why we can rest in the knowledge that He will never forsake us—even as He sends us out to proclaim His good news to the world!

Purchase the 14 Volume Set on USB ($5)

Copyright © 2023 , Truth For Life. All rights reserved.

Unless otherwise indicated, all Scripture quotations are taken from The ESV® Bible (The Holy Bible, English Standard Version®), copyright © 2001 by Crossway, a publishing ministry of Good News Publishers. Used by permission. All rights reserved.